Rich’s decision

This post is a tough one, but for those who have not yet heard, Rich has declined any further treatments regarding his cancer.

As much as it pains me to write that, to actually put it out there, this was his decision and his alone to make. The chances of the radiation/chemo saving his life are pretty much slim to none and he doesn’t want to go through the pain and agony that the treatments would bring. As Rich put it “he is done”. He is done with the pain, the loss of dignity, everything. And now that he has made that choice, he seems to be very content. He is now in control, not the doctors or anyone else and he is comfortable with that. He has gotten so weak and incredibly thin and he just doesn’t want to go through any more pain.

It has been amazing to look back at the last year and see how God was preparing Rich for this. Long before he fell ill, he struck up a friendship with Pastor Jim. Jim loves Rich unconditionally, just as Christ does and that was exactly what Rich needed. Then we started a Home Bible Fellowship that Pastor Jim leads here at the house, along with his wife Cheryl, and Rich was a part of that. He started reading his Bible and trusting Christ and he and Gary have been studying the Bible here at home. It is of great comfort to Rich, and to us, to know that Jesus is going to take his hand and lead him through this into his forever home with his heavenly Father, with no more sorrow, no more pain.

Rich is at the Good Shepherd, room 152. Please pray for peace and comfort. Thank you all for your support of Rich and his decision.

Comments on: "Rich’s decision" (8)

  1. Nancy Wasen said:

    Cindi,
    Wow…that’s a big decision for a young person to make but I have to say if I was in his shoes, I think I would make the same choice. Quality of life is as important as quantity. Is he able to have Hospice help? I think they are the most wonderful organization and they can override the docs and everyone when it comes to pain management (I speak from experience as they took over my mom’s care even tho she was at Good Shepherd for the last year of her life)
    You and Gary have been good to Rich and have done what most would shy away from. I get tired of people saying how good they are: actions speak louder than words..
    Love ya Cindi
    Nancy

  2. Our prayers are with all of you.

  3. Cheryl Burkholder said:

    Cindi: You and Gary have both been amazing to Rich. Thank you so much for all of the updates. It sounds like Rich has been so strong through all of this — he continues to be a great person. Please tell him he is in my thoughts and prayers — along with you and Gary.

  4. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so
    much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message
    home a bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.

    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  5. Hi mates, its wonderful article on the topic of cultureand completely defined, keep
    it up all the time.

  6. Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

